Friday, 10 July 2015


Bought 2,300 SingTel shares today morning. Building up my portfolio step-by-step :)

Wednesday, 8 July 2015


After observing the stock market this morning, I purchased 900 OCBC Bank shares.

Looking forward to the dividends!

Monday, 6 July 2015


Have not written a blog post for some time as I was very busy with work. Another reason is that I did not feel that I should allocate a larger percentage of my savings into shares at this moment in time, and have been spending relatively less time on topics related to investments.

In view of the situation in Europe, I decided today morning to look up the prices of the shares which I am interested in (those identified to be included into my "caveman portfolio"). After observing the situation, I went ahead and bought 400 UOB shares.

Looking forward to the dividends!

Thursday, 19 February 2015


Before the Chinese New Year, I decided to start building up my "caveman portfolio". The main motivation was to start having a stream of income to help pay for part of my monthly expenditure.

I started with the "foundation" and bought 2,200 StarHub shares. Assuming that StarHub would be distributing dividends amounting to a total of $0.20 per share for this year (similar to the year 2014), I would be able to receive $440 of dividends in total. This would work out to be about $36 per month. This may be a small amount but it could fully cover my monthly mobile phone bill.

A first step, albeit a small one.

Wednesday, 18 February 2015

No more rental income

In Dec 2014 and Jan 2015, my property agent only manage to bring three potential tenants to look at my apartment. Sadly, none of them was interested after viewing the place.

Eventually, I decided to use the apartment myself. My parents' HDB flat would be undergoing upgrading soon, and I thought that having this apartment for temporary use would bring some convenience for us. As a result, I was busy with buying furniture, fixing them up, stocking up on household necessities, cleaning the apartment, and other related issues such as applying for the owner-occupier property tax rate.

Shall see how the situation is after my parents' HDB flat has completed the upgrading works. Perhaps it would be easier to rent out a fully furnished apartment.